My Spiritual Dilemma

In my single season, I have decided God wants me to get closer to Him and stay focused on my purpose. Sounds ideal right?! So why is it so difficult? When my husband left, I did a lot of soul searching. I wanted to change my life. I made visual changes as well as internal ones. I made the decision that I needed to return to church and I did. It was a lot easier than I thought it would be. I have barely missed any Sunday services. 

Now that I am no longer dating (wish I had done this in the Summer and not cuffing season), I want to increase my knowledge in the word. As my pastor says, don’t rely on him! Read the word for yourself. Throughout my life I have attempted to read the bible. I’ve always admired those who could recite an applicable scripture in times of encouragement. I on the other hand have a comprehension problem when it comes to the bible. I pray for understanding and I start with great intentions but I just get lost in translation. 

Out of this frustration, I read a little and close it. Someone told me about the the NLT version which brought me great excitement. I even went and bought a beautiful pink one as my new book. Unfortunately someone also emailed me describing the conspiracy to remove certain scriptures. When it said look up certain ones, I did, and they weren’t there.😳 Completely disheartened I abandoned this option as well. Sometimes I think some reading is better than none. Yet other times I’m just frustrated with myself for lacking commitment. 

This is my own insecurity and I need to buckle down to face it head on. I can’t give up on myself. I’ve earned two degrees so surely I can read. Like I’ve mentioned in earlier blogs, I have no patience! Because I can’t grasp this easily, my lack of patience wins every time. I need to focus and cut myself some slack. I wasn’t reading it at all nor did I care to. Now I at least want this knowledge. I am thirsting for it so I hope this is the catalyst I need to persevere. 

If any of you had this struggle and used some tool(s) to overcome it, I’m open to suggestions. Pray for me guys as I want to get through this cover to cover! 

God bless 

About ariessays

I have no other purpose but to honestly share my thoughts and experiences in hopes of helping someone else cope with this journey called life.
This entry was posted in Spiritual and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

