Yes Lord, I’m finally listening…

Change your mind, change your life! I have heard this saying countless amounts of times but they say if something is reoccurring in your mind…it may be God trying to speak to you! As with every new year, people commit to change. I am not any different except I don’t want to call it a resolution but instead a promise to myself to change my life.

I have had a strong desire to increase my personal relationship with God for a long time now. As you may have seen in a previous blog, I struggle with reading the word. I have made a decision to just get through it as many times as it takes for full comprehension and understanding. Additionally, I found a year long devotional to assist me in meeting my goal. The book is called “He Whispers Your Name by Cherie Hill”. It is designed to support you in hearing God’s voice for yourself. Someone posted a page from it on Facebook and it touched me in a way that nothing else has. I knew I had to have this book. I reached out to the poster and she was kind enough to share it with me. I ordered it immediately with the intention of starting it today since it begins January 1st. I want to encourage you to join me even if you don’t start on the first day. Your journey is yours and mine is mine; however, as long as we’re on one it can only get better.

I have also decided to create a blog series to chronicle my journey with this book. Although the passages are daily, I’m going to summarize weekly (most likely on Sunday) to share what I’ve read and the epiphanies I’ve had over of the weeks. I’m hoping at the end of this year, I will have reached more clarity and increased my personal relationship with the Lord.

2016 is the first year I have gone to worship every Sunday except one because I was out of town and we’re not streaming online yet. I have fundamentally changed at my core. This personal development project is about evolving further. I never want to stop listening, learning, and growing. I think if I do, I will surely die. I can only become my best self by constant change.

Why did I decide to do this publicly? Because I need accountability! If I commit to the universe to write this blog, I will finish it because if I give my word I must do it.

I’m excited about the year ahead and I look forward to sharing this first week with you. Until next weekend….

 

footprintsinthesand

 

*This series is a summary of my lessons from He Whispers Your Name by Cherie Hill* 

About ariessays

I have no other purpose but to honestly share my thoughts and experiences in hopes of helping someone else cope with this journey called life.
This entry was posted in Encouragement, Gratitude, Spiritual and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yes Lord, I’m finally listening…

  1. Shola says:

    Interesting piece…. keep it up my friend!

Leave a Reply

