Growing in Grace – Trials and Troubles 

Funny thing about trouble…it always manages to show up and show out! I’m sure you’ve heard the same thing about God. How ironic?! When it does happen either two things will occur: 1. God will take you over it or 2. God will bring you through it. I don’t know about you but my most troubling times have taught me the greatest lessons. My biggest trial to date actually brought me back to God. I never fully left Him. I honestly don’t think you can once you’ve given Him your life but I definitely was not actively participating in our relationship for a very long time. 

There’s nothing like darkness where only His light shines through. You know the times when you can’t see any possible way out of a situation but you have a mustard seed of faith?! Yep! You know what I’m talking about. It’s earth shattering!!! Well “He Whispers…” reminds us to view obstacles as opportunities instead of difficulties. If you don’t, you may try to get out of it and miss how the same struggle that could bring you blessings. 

I have always wondered about folks who commit suicide. I think what could be that bad? I now realize pain can be debilitating. You feel alone but you’re never ever alone. When you fully accept this, you will see that it’s true. I remember feeling desperately lonely once but I didn’t want to call any loser exes. I decided to talk directly to God. I mean I was upset with Him anyway so why not?! I started telling Him how I felt. I mean really having a transparent conversation about it all. Before I knew it, I was no longer lonely. I had God and always do. I just have to remember this fact because out of sight is out of mind for me. 

When you give your life to Christ, you are certain to be met with opposition to your faith. The key is not to become angry but thank Him in all things. This gratitude will prove that you are holding on to your promises of victory. You will not remain in this trial. “He Whispers…” reminds us there is a limit to our pain. We are expected to patiently go through our trials until God says it’s over. He will not end your trial until it reaches its full potential. It is only for a season. Any lingering trial is due to Him wanting it to bring an enormous amount of forever glory. I experienced this a few years ago, I was unemployed for 8 months. I thought I would lose my mind. 3 months prior to that my husband and I separated before filing for divorce. I had two major life events in less than six months. The pain was unbearable. I thought I had finally hit my quota of support from God. I wanted to throw in the towel. I dinstinctly recall being in gut wrenching pain but I still didn’t want to end it. I just wanted to get through it. I called God out! I said this too shall pass and you said weeping may endure for the night but joy come in the morning. Literally I woke up restored and renewed. I survived! I held on to my faith and relied on Him like never before. As I mentioned above, I have eternal gratitude. I never want to be without Him again. That trouble….changed my life! 

When you experience life altering pain, you feel as if you did something to piss God off. He has to be mad to let you have this kind of long suffering. It’s simply not true. “He Whispers…” says God uses this time to grow your faith against anything that plans to destroy it. Now it all made sense! Everywhere my faith was lacking, God sent His grace to pull me through. All the challenges are to prepare us for eternal life. 

The biggest epiphany this week, was reading faith is not developed by certainty but by going through it despite your doubts, fears, and the severe unknown. God is not doing any of this for entertainment. He is not punishing you but developing you for your purpose. Whatever He takes in the process will be returned abundantly. When you feel the most defeated, believe it or not, He is the closest to you. Never underestimate what God can do. He is the Creator! Have hope that you will come out victorious. Enter your trials without fear because it wears on the soul. Stand on His promises. If He can control the world, surely He has your little problems under control. And I know they don’t seem little to you but in the grand scheme of the world, they kinda are! God is the protector and meets our every need. Your trials and troubles aren’t about how you live life in this world. They are preparing you for thee eternal life! 

ALL YOU SHOULD SAY IS….HALLELUJAH!!!! 

*This series is a summary of my lessons from He Whispers Your Name by Cherie Hill* 

About ariessays

I have no other purpose but to honestly share my thoughts and experiences in hopes of helping someone else cope with this journey called life.
This entry was posted in Encouragement, Gratitude, Life, Relationships, Spiritual. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

